Hey there friends.

It’s been awhile.

Let’s talk about doubt. Doubt is an ugly, heavy thing. It can be a major stumbling block to success. Living with doubt is kind of like swimming through shark-infested waters … with a fifty pound dumbbell tied around your neck. Not only are you constantly weighed down, but you’re also on edge, anxiously wondering when the next crippling attack will come. Basically, there’s a lot of fear involved. Fear is never productive.

I was in doubt. I worked hard all summer: sweating buckets, pushing my limits, rising before the sun to get in a run before the stifling heat made it impossible. I committed a lot of time and effort to making myself stronger, faster, tougher. It wasn’t for kicks and giggles; I had a goal. I knew, that upon returning to school, I would have to tryout again to earn a place on the team that had come to mean so much to me. So, I put in the work required to get to where I needed to be.

Still, I doubted myself. And when the time came to take to the 2k test that had been hanging over my head all summer, my doubt was a hundred pound dumbbell and the sharks were hungry. Not surprisingly, I didn’t make it that first time. I stopped blogging because I wondered if I would even be able to call myself a “rower” for very much longer.

But there were people who believed in me and who refused to let me quit. There were the friends who gave encouragement, the teammates who erged beside me through extra workouts, the coaches who saw something in me that I couldn’t. There was my family, whose support never wavered through the weeks of uncertainty and mental and physical exhaustion.

And so it was that one morning I sat down on the erg, slammed everything I had against those foot stretchers, and blew right through my goal.

So, long story short, I’m back. This rower’s still hungry, and ready to get even stronger.

I’ll leave you with this quote, which a friend shared with me:
“A mind troubled by doubt cannot focus on the course to victory.”
– Arthur Golden

