I love dairy.  Dairy doesn’t always love me back.  Life’s not fair (No milkshakes for this kid.), but you learn to deal with it.

That said, thank God for goat cheese.  Like many lactose intolerant folks, I find goat’s milk easier to digest than cow’s milk.  It doesn’t hurt that goat cheese is perhaps one of the most delicious edible substances on the planet.  That’s not an exaggeration people.  It’s also surprisingly versatile; and sometimes a sprinkle of the good stuff is all you need to elevate a dish from “This is good.” to “I WANT TO KEEP PUTTING THIS IN MY FACE FOREVER.”

The perfect compliment to Jenna’s babaganoush soup, made with some gorgeous organic eggplant I scored at the farmer’s market:

Crumbled on top of an arugula salad with snap peas, fresh peaches, walnuts, and a honey vinaigrette:

I might even go as far as to say goat cheese is the George Clooney of the food world: a distinctive presence, mature and complex, smooth yet assertive, and good in a variety of roles.  

“If you love it so much, why don’t you marry it?”  Because it’s cheese, silly.  Insanely delectable cheese.  That’s not an exaggeration.

 

