Haters gonna hate, but my family loves Costco.  Like, really loves Costco. There’s just something magical about the combination of bulk savings and tasty free samples.  And you just can’t beat a 26 ounce jar of MaraNatha natural almond butter for under six bucks.

Especially when you dig overnight oats as much as I do.

Strawberry Almond Butter Overnight Oats

a bulked up version of the KERF classic 

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 2 tbsp ground flax
  • 6 frozen strawberries, chopped
  • 1 6 ounce organic strawberry yogurt
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened organic soy milk
  • 1 (almost) empty 26 ounce jar of almond butter
Mixed and mashed, then an overnighter in the fridge.  
Makes one hearty serving, or two lighter ones.

Yesterday, this only served one.  And let me tell you, I needed every last delicious spoonful.  I’m taking a chemistry course at my local college this summer; I leave my house at 7:30 and sometimes don’t get back until after 1.  I always pack a snack, but that’s not a guaranteed stopgap, even with a breakfast like this.  As soon as I get home, it’s time to eat.  I had tossed some organic kale from our local farmer’s market in a blush wine vinaigrette and stuck it in the fridge alongside my oats to “marinate” overnight, so I pulled that out for lunch yesterday and topped it with halved fresh cherries, a handful of sunflower seeds, and a Boca Chik’n patty.  I also had some warm hunks of wheat baguette with butter on the side.  Bliss.



Okay, so that’s actually a picture of a similar salad I had this weekend.  But you get the idea.  After lunch, it was time for a quick nap and some cardio.  Despite the fact that it felt like Africa outside, I knocked out 3.4 sweaty miles in 30 minutes, then hopped on the erg for 30 minutes of steady state.  After a shower, a snack, and a huge glass of Greaterade, I headed to work.  I”ve got a job coaching lacrosse (Fun Fact: I played in high school.), so “work” for me entails two hours of corralling stick-wielding elementary schoolers.  That alone is a workout; they move pretty fast for having such short little legs.

So yeah, I needed those oats.
